Fram Kitagawa

Artistic Director

Mr. Fram Kitagawa was born in Niigata Prefecture, Japan and graduated from Tokyo University of Arts. He is the founder and artistic director of “Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennial” and “Setouchi International Art Festival” and the artistic director of “Faret Tachikawa” public art.

Personal Honor: Minister of General Affairs Prize, the Art and Culture Knight Medal awarded by the French Government, Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology’s Art Encouragement Prize, Maritime Establishment Promoter’s Prize, the Australian Honorary Officer’s Medal, Purple Ribbon Medal awarded by the Japanese Government, Japan’s most influential humanities awards “Asahi Reward” and “Cultural Awards”.

Project Awards: “1994 Urban Planning Society Award Special Prize of Japan Art”, “1994 Grand Prix for Architecture and Craft Association and Urban Landscape Award” from Faret Tachikawa; “Furusato Event Award Grand Prix and Minister of General Affair Prize”, “Alright Nippon Prime Minister Award”, “JTB Interchange Culture Award Education, Science and Technology Minister’s Art Encouragement Prize” from Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennial; “Maritime Establishment Promoter’s Prize” from Setouchi International Art Festival.

Main team members: Wu Leyi、KEVINTAY、NAOHISA YABUTA、Zhai Feihe、Guo Ning、Ma Rui、YOSHIE MIWA、REI MAEDA、MITSUKO KUSANO、Sun Zihan、Ying Qianglong、Wang Jingsheng

Xing Ruan

Architecture and Urban Curator

Xing RUAN 阮昕, PhD, is Dean and Guangqi Chair Professor of Architecture at School of Design, Shanghai Jiao Tong University. He is a member of Shanghai Jiao Tong University Academic Committee. Xing joined UNSW Sydney as Professor of Architecture in 2004. He was Associate Dean International (2015-2018), Director of Architecture (2014-16), Chair of Architecture Discipline and Director of Master of Architecture from (2005-09). Prior to his appointment to UNSW, he was Director of School of Architecture at the University of Technology Sydney (2002-04).

Xing has published on a cultural history of housing, architecture and anthropology, vernacular architecture, architectural education, Louis Kahn and modern architecture, China’s pre-modern, modern and contemporary architecture, as well as Australian contemporary architecture.

Main team members: Zhang Haiao、Xu Hang、You Lie、Du Qian、Zhang Ziqi、Helen Lochhead、Ainslie Murray、Giorgio Gianighian、Wang Hao

Yoshiyuki Kawazoe

Art Curator

Born in Kanagawa and graduated from the University of Tokyo, Kawazoe (1979 -) is an architect, associate professor of the University of Tokyo and the director of Kawazoe Lab. He is a member of Institute of Industrial Science, The University of Tokyo; a member of Research Committee on Architectural Planning and Design, Kanto Region, Architectural Institute of Japan; chairman of Japan and Netherlands Architecture Cultural Association; and an advisor to Urban Reinvigoration, a Regional Integrated Development Foundation project. Key projects: Henn-na Hotel; Annex Comprehensive Library, the University of Tokyo. Publishing: “Trace the Spirit Put into the Space”; “Live in This City”.

Ming Zhang

Chief Architect

Professor / Vice Head of Department of Architecture, College of Architecture and Urban Planning, Tongji University; Chief Architect of TJAD Original Design Studio.

Concurrently listed among the list of expertise of Urban Space and Historic Preservation at the Shanghai Urban Planning Committee. Serves as the standing director of The Architectural Society of Shanghai, China (ASSC), and the director of the Council of Urban and Rural Built Heritage. Meanwhile serves as member of several councils in ASSC, including Council of Architectural Competition, Council of Science Popularization, Council of Industrial Heritage and Council of Architectural Criticism. Member of editorial committees of Urban Environment Design, Architecture Technique, Architecture Practice. Awarded the Youth Architects Award of Architectural Society of China, the award of Young talented Architects in Shanghai, “the most influential architects in China”, the Global Chinese Yong Architects Award and “AD100 China’s most influential architectural design elites. In 2018, he was awarded the Outstanding Young and Middle-aged Architects in Shanghai Award and Outstanding Contribution Award of 40th Anniversary of Reform and Opening-up in Shanghai Survey and Design Industry.

Endeavors research on the design theory and design methodology on urban regeneration, the renovation of existing buildings and cultural and educational architecture, while insisting on the combination of design and research.

Projects such as Wu Lixiang Museum in Xin Tiandi, Future Pavilion of Shanghai Expo (now PSA), Fan Zen Art Gallery, Civil Cultural Center of Xian Yang, Office of Jie Fang Daily, Original Design Studio, Core Area of Nan Kai University, Addition of Xianghui Tang in Fu Dan University, Yangpu River Waterfront Public Space Demonstration are widely acknowledged and were rewarded the Arcasia Award (gold medal), the HKIA Cross-Strait Architectural Design Award (gold medal), the China Architectural Design Award (gold medal for architectural creation), the National Excellent Project Exploration & Design Award (first class for architectural engineering), The Ministry of Education Award for outstanding engineering and exploration (first class of engineering section) and other important international and domestic awards.

Participated in: 2012 Milan Triennale; 2017 26th World Architecture Conference in Seoul, South Korea; ZAI XING TU MU- Sixteen Chinese Museums ,Fifteen chinese Architects; 2016 Aedes Berlin, Germany; 2016 Harvard GSD–Towards Critical Pragmatism: Contemporary Chinese Architecture; Living in Busan, Living in Shanghai; BUGAIK International Architecture Exhibition; Lecture on ‘Identities for a changing World’in Venice Biennale; HINA VISION Forum; etc.

Main team members: zhang Bin、Liu Yuyang、Liu Yichun、Zhang Zi、Liu Yujie、Shan Wenhui、Yang Xiaoqing